If you’re rushing to get down the aisle, Minnesota has no waiting period when it comes to tying the knot. The only waiting period exists for ex-felons who are interested in pursuing a name change right away, who have a 30-day waiting period before they can receive their Minnesota marriage license.
What is required to get married in MN?
Minnesota Marriage License Requirements
Within the state of Minnesota, marriage applicants must be at least 18 years of age. Both partners must appear together and present a valid photo ID. The marriage ceremony must take place within the state, and once issued, your license will be valid for six months.
Can you get married in Minnesota right now?
You can apply for a marriage license in any Minnesota county, regardless of where you live. Your wedding ceremony can take place anywhere in the state, but it must happen within 6 months after you receive the license.
Can you get married at 14 in Minnesota?
(ABC 6 News) — Beginning, August 1st, the legal age to marry in Minnesota is now 18 years old. Before this law took effect on Saturday, 16 and 17-year-old children were allowed to get marriage licenses with the consent of a parent, guardian, or court.
How much does it cost to get married in MN?
The cost of a marriage license in the state of Minnesota is $115 and must be used within six months or it will expire.
Do you need a birth certificate to get married MN?
Marriage Application Requirement Minnesota: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate. To complete the application for a marriage license, a couple must: Both applicants should apply in person. … Full Names – before and after marriage.
Can I get a marriage license online?
You can begin the application process to receive a Marriage License online via “City Clerk Online”. This will speed up the process which then must be completed in person at the Office of the City Clerk. … You must wait a full 24 hours before your Marriage Ceremony can be performed unless you obtain a Judicial Waiver.
How do you get married at the courthouse in Minnesota?
Complete the following steps to request a marriage license in our office.
- Download and complete Marriage License Application (PDF), or pick up an application in the office.
- Sign the application at the office window (signature must be witnessed).
- Provide proof of counseling, if applying for reduced fee.
What state can you marry at 12?
Marriage Age By State 2021
|State||With Parental Consent||Without Parental Consent|
Can you get married at 17 in MN?
Under state law now 16- and 17-year-olds can get married with parental consent and approval from a judge in the county where they live. … In Minnesota, a child’s parents or legal guardian must petition the courts in order for a minor to be married.
Can a minor get married in MN?
Current law allows 16- and 17-year-olds to obtain marriage licenses with permission from a parent, legal guardian, or judge. The legislation will take effect on August 1, 2020. … Minnesota doesn’t collect data on child marriages, but an estimated 250,000 minors were married in the United States between 2000 and 2010.