Do you have to have a marriage license to get married in Mississippi?

Both parties desiring to be married must obtain a marriage license by applying in-person at a local county circuit clerk’s office. Applicants do not have to be a resident of the county where the application is obtained, nor do they have to be Mississippi residents.

Can you get married without a marriage license in Mississippi?

The legal age to marry is 21, females 15 and males 17 can marry with parents petition and judicial waiver. No blood test or residency requirements.

Marriage Law Requirements for Mississippi Marriage Licenses:

Adams Alcorn
Calhoun Carroll
Chickasaw Choctaw
Claiborne Clarke
Clay Coahoma

What is required to get married in Mississippi?

Requirements for a marriage license: Both bride and groom must appear together to apply. Both parties must have a valid identification (birth certificate or driver’s license , date of birth must be in English) If under 21, a parent(s) must sign or a court order may be required (parents must have a valid identification)

How can you get married without a marriage license?

Whether you get legally married before, after, or never, a commitment ceremony is a perfectly legitimate and personal way to become married in the eyes of yourselves and those who know you. Commitment ceremonies mark the tradition from “dating” to “married.” Basically, it’s getting married without a marriage license.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is it a red flag if a man has been married three times?

Do you need a Licence to get married at home?

So if you choose to hold your ceremony at home you will need to visit a registry office at some point beforehand to sign your wedding paperwork. … If a licence is granted your ceremony can then be conducted by a registrar, making it legally binding (although of course it would not be as personal).

How long does it take to get marriage license in Mississippi?

Wait 3 days for your license.

The state of Mississippi requires a 3 day waiting period after you apply for your marriage license. They take this time to check your materials and give you time to back out if you want to.

How soon do you get marriage license before wedding?

California marriage licenses are only valid for 90 days, so you must obtain your marriage license within the 90 days immediately prior to your wedding date. No blood test is required. There is no waiting period. The clerk will give you your license immediately.

How much does it cost to get married in Mississippi?

As of July 2, 2019, the cost of a marriage license in Mississippi is $38.

Do marriage licenses expire?

Typically, your marriage license will expire 30 days after it is issued. If this happens, don’t panic; you can apply for a new one. However, most states imply a waiting period from the date of the issuance of your marriage license until the date of your actual ceremony.

What’s the difference between marriage license and Marriage Certificate?

A Marriage License is the legal document which one must have to get married. A Marriage Certificate is the legal document that proves that you have been married.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can a Lutheran marry a Catholic in a Catholic church?

Can you get a marriage license online?

You can begin the application process to receive a Marriage License online via “City Clerk Online“. This will speed up the process which then must be completed in person at the Office of the City Clerk. … You must wait a full 24 hours before your Marriage Ceremony can be performed unless you obtain a Judicial Waiver.

What do I do if I don’t have a Marriage Certificate?

If you can’t find your marriage certificate or get an official copy, you must submit both of the following documents instead: A notarized personal affidavit (written explanation) in which you describe the facts of your marriage and the reason you’re unable to obtain an official copy of your marriage certificate.

Wedding portal